WALKING ON CLOUDS: GO FLEX FOR THE URBAN STOMPER

 

2

When I’m not trekking, I’m city stomping.

 

So, I need shoes that can roll along with me- literally – on at least five kilometers of pavement per day.

 

Astoundingly, I found Skechers Go Flex Walk fits the bill, with its segmented outsoles that fluidly moved with me.

6

My feet could use some pampering. I’ve trekked thousands of kilometers of mixed terrain – over a dozen mountains, deserts, glaciers, forests, canyons, rivers, you name it, through over a decade of adventuring in 75 countries and five continents.

 

Of course, as an avid backpacker, footwear has always been the first and most expensive item on my list.

 

Each of our feet contains 26 bones, 33 joints, plus over one hundred muscles, tendons, and ligaments. Twenty of these joints work with each other to enable us as we stand and walk anywhere we please. Hence, support and comfort are of utmost importance, especially when you’re on your feet most of the time.

 

When I was just starting out as a globe-trotter, I wore sturdy – needless to say, heavy leather shoes, adding 3-5 pounds to my load. I rationalized I need to get as much support and protection as I could – and suffered for it.

 

I lugged a 40-pound backpack and was on my feet almost constantly from 8AM to 8PM – or longer, so imagine the kind of punishment I took.

 

I ended up with pure agony on almost every part of my body, especially on my feet. Even my knees and calves screamed.

 

Now, I value comfort, above everything else.

1

I have to. Even when I’m not globe-trotting, I do an awful lot of walking.

 

From my condo to my first commute point in Manila – the taxi queue – is one kilometer. From my bus stop in Makati to my press office (where I work daily) is a two-kilometer walk. Then there’s the daily news coverage, which in this traffic-plagued metropolis entails an additional couple of kilometers of travel on pure foot power – more if I’m doing errands or shopping.

 

In nightmarish situations, such as the recent “carmageddon”, when I was stranded with thousands of commuters in Makati after flash floods, I trudged some six kilometers from Glorietta to Shaw Boulevard, Mandaluyong, just so I can get home.

 

Definitely, I put comfort above everything when I walk.

1 (2)

So far, the Skechers Go Flex Walk is the most comfy pair of shoes I’ve owned. It’s radically lightweight (5 1/2 oz.), with ultra-soft, nearly seamless, knitted, fabric uppers.

 

Inside, it’s cushy. The memory foam fit pads keep my every stride effortless, the Resalyte material softening each step I take.

 

It’s like wearing next to nothing on my feet. Amazing, how I can walk so fast without pain!

 

The Go Flex articulated segmented outsole is likewise ultra-flexible. Literally, I get to fold my shoes away and tuck them in my daypack or handbag.

2 (2)

I never even had to break in my Go Flex. I wore them as soon as I unboxed them. Normally, I have to wear even my softest shoes for a couple of weeks before they stop giving me blisters. With Go Flex, it was treading on clouds on day one.

 

Add to that, I get to slip them on and off without effort, thanks to the Quick Fit circle on the Achilles Notch at the back of the shoes.

 

Not only do I wear my Go Flex  to work, I even donned the Black Gray lace-up version in a cocktail event which specified Business Casual attire. I got away with it.

9

 

However, I haven’t used my Go Flex Walk outside the urban setting and beyond the pavement – yet. I still have to wear it in the gym, take it museum-hopping, running and dancing. Anyway, it’s been used by street dancers in Skechers Streetdance Battle, with much success.

 

In all honesty, I have yet to see how long my Go Flex will last. Before, the heavier walking shoes I’ve worn daily lasted a couple of years max. There could be tradeoffs for lightness, such as durability. But I’m in no position to make conclusions about that at this point. We’ll have to see.

 

I’ve only used my Go Flex  Walk for less than a month. In time, I’ll do a follow-up story.

 

Anyway, it’s good to know that Skechers Go Walk is the Number 1 walking shoe in the USA, a trailblazer in its category.

 

Retail industry veteran Robert Greenberg established Skechers in 1992. In 23 years, it evolved into a billion-dollar footwear brand, setting industry standards for comfort and style.

8

To date, Skechers designs, develops and markets over 3,000 trend-savvy styles for men, women and children, continuing to pave the way for innovation.

 

Without doubt, I’m happy. My feet skim the clouds with Go Flex Walk. I’ll recommend it for every avid walker in the city.

3

 

 

The Go Flex Walk slip-ons are priced at P3,495 and come in 6 colors: black, charcoal blue, black hot pink, hot pink, navy gray and taupe. The lace-up costs P3,795 and comes in four colors: black gray, charcoal turquoise, gray pink and hot pink.

 

Skechers GO FLEX WALK  is available at the Skechers stores in Glorietta 2, TriNoma, Ayala Fairview Terraces, SM North Edsa, The Annex, SM Mall of Asia, Robinsons Galleria, Robinsons Place Manila, Gateway Mall, Lucky Chinatown, Market Market, Alabang Town Center, Festival Mall, SM Fairview, SM Dasmarinas, Paseo Sta. Rosa, Marquee Mall, SM Pampanga, SM Bacolod, SM Clark, Ayala Center Cebu, SM City Cebu, SM Davao, Centrio Mall, Cagayan de Oro and LimKetKai Mall CDO.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

